Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Cannot Locate License Server


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Tribmos

Tribmos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 September 2011 - 10:41 AM

I have a few systems running 9.01 B2561 and they have been going fine for years now. However today one system is reporting error 3405 "BarTender cannot locate the Seagull License Server on the network." It had been working the previous week.

Going into Tools -> Licensing setup and running manual tests DO find the server
All running processes that appear to be seagull related are allowed through the firewall (windows)
System is WinXP SP3

I'm really not sure where to start as the "test" finds the server, yet it errors on a print/print preview. The other systems are not experiencing this issue.

#2 Susan C - Seagull Support

Susan C - Seagull Support

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 102 posts

Posted 07 September 2011 - 02:53 AM

Hi Tribmos:


For this specific error happen on your system , I suggest you contact our regional local support office http://www.seagullsc...al-support.aspx for more personalized and more efficient help.


Thanks!

#3 Ian C - Seagull Support

Ian C - Seagull Support

    EMEA Support Manager

  • Administrators
  • 1,597 posts
  • LocationMadrid

Posted 02 November 2011 - 03:11 AM

As a quick test, deactivate the BarTender application and then reactivate again. Does that get BarTender finding License Server again? Be sure to have your PKC handy before deactivating.

#4 Peter_E

Peter_E

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 November 2011 - 04:52 AM

As a quick test, deactivate the BarTender application and then reactivate again. Does that get BarTender finding License Server again? Be sure to have your PKC handy before deactivating.


I registered on this board just to say thank you! Now it works.

#5 John Popernack

John Popernack

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 November 2011 - 06:57 AM

Hi-

I have an issue with BarTender not connecting to the Seagull License Server.

I am running Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard and BarTender Enterprise Automation Edition version 9.40 licensed for 3 printers. I downloaded the software from this website and used the trial mode for a period of time and activated it today.

I tried deactivating and reactivating BarTender. Also, under Administer..Licensing Setup, I tested the connection and it didn't find it (although, this may not be a proper test, since it's set to automatically find the SLS).

Can someone help with this?

Thanks

#6 John Popernack

John Popernack

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 November 2011 - 07:29 AM

Just replying to update. The OS is 64 bit.

#7 Ian C - Seagull Support

Ian C - Seagull Support

    EMEA Support Manager

  • Administrators
  • 1,597 posts
  • LocationMadrid

Posted 30 November 2011 - 08:29 AM

Have you installed and activated License Server on one of your computers in the network? You mention installing the BarTender Trial and activating it, but nothing about the License Server.

The License Server software can be downloaded from the below link. It is License Server which you activate on-line as you license. It then provides printer licenses to the BarTender clients.

http://www.seagullsc...nse-server.aspx

See the below white paper for more details:

http://s3.amazonaws....ons_English.pdf

The BarTender user manual also covers License Server installation and configuration:

http://www.seagullsc...re-manuals.aspx

#8 John Popernack

John Popernack

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 November 2011 - 08:32 AM

Thanks. I didn't know this was required. I'll try it and let you know how it goes.

#9 John Popernack

John Popernack

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 November 2011 - 08:36 AM

I see that it recommends installing the SLS before installing BarTender. Should I uninstall BarTender first, or just procede.

#10 Ian C - Seagull Support

Ian C - Seagull Support

    EMEA Support Manager

  • Administrators
  • 1,597 posts
  • LocationMadrid

Posted 30 November 2011 - 08:47 AM

It's recommended as an activated BarTender won't find License Server until that is also installed and activated, but really it doesn't matter if printing down time of 10 minutes is not an issue. Leave BarTender as it is.

#11 John Popernack

John Popernack

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 30 November 2011 - 10:19 AM

That worked. Thanks!

#12 savellano

savellano

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 March 2012 - 11:42 AM

We have multiple installations using Bartender V9.3 that are experiencing issues with error message 2402. Bartender unable to connect for 2 days. After 1 more day... Of course the number of days varies according to the site.

We find that the SLS service is not running even though it is set for automatic. After starting the service the system starts processing jobs normally. Site personnel will typically reboot the PC to restore production. SLS is on the same PC as Bartender. The frequency of these incidents varies from once a week to everyday even though the system runs continuously. Event logs do not show the service being shut down, but when we check, it is in fact not running.

#13 Ian C - Seagull Support

Ian C - Seagull Support

    EMEA Support Manager

  • Administrators
  • 1,597 posts
  • LocationMadrid

Posted 15 March 2012 - 01:07 AM

We have multiple installations using Bartender V9.3 that are experiencing issues with error message 2402. Bartender unable to connect for 2 days. After 1 more day... Of course the number of days varies according to the site.

We find that the SLS service is not running even though it is set for automatic. After starting the service the system starts processing jobs normally. Site personnel will typically reboot the PC to restore production. SLS is on the same PC as Bartender. The frequency of these incidents varies from once a week to everyday even though the system runs continuously. Event logs do not show the service being shut down, but when we check, it is in fact not running.


It sounds like you are having the problem that is detailed in the below forum post.

http://seagullscient...p?showtopic=688

#14 savellano

savellano

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 March 2012 - 06:34 AM

It sounds like you are having the problem that is detailed in the below forum post.

http://seagullscient...p?showtopic=688


Unfortunately, the issue has been going on for longer than just this week. We have one site with two identical systems, only one of which is affected by the issue. The one not affected has worked fine both before and after the switch to DST.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users